PMHNP Programs in San Francisco
Nurse practitioners in this metro earn a median of $219,080, and California still requires a physician to sign off on the protocols that define what you may do. Both of those are true at the same time. Below are the two accredited programs based here, what the state actually asks of you, and how that pay is distributed.
The short version
There are two verified, CCNE-accredited PMHNP programs in San Francisco: the University of California, San Francisco and the University of San Francisco. Both are BSN-to-DNP tracks, so the metro offers the doctoral route rather than a master's. If you want the shorter credential, see our MSN PMHNP ranking.
Neither school publishes who secures your preceptor. Two programs, same city, same unanswered question, which makes it the thing to ask both admissions offices in writing before you compare anything else.
California is a restricted-practice state. Your authority comes from written standardized procedures developed with a physician, and prescribing runs through a separate furnishing credential rather than your license. We explain the full mechanism further down, because it governs every PMHNP in the state.
The metro median is $219,080, about $50,560 above the California median of $168,520 and 65.6% above the national NP median. The 90th percentile reaches $273,960 (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
The two PMHNP programs in San Francisco are both BSN-to-DNP tracks: one at the University of California, San Francisco and one at the University of San Francisco, both accredited by CCNE. Choosing between them is the smaller question this page can help with. The larger one is what the credential is worth once you have it, because this metro pays nurse practitioners more than almost any other while granting them less independent authority than most states do.
That combination is worth sitting with before you commit several years to it. A nurse practitioner at the bottom decile here earns about $21,000 more than the national median nurse practitioner, which tells you the premium is not reserved for a handful of people at the top of the market. It also does not buy you the right to hang out your own shingle, because California attaches your clinical authority to a document your employer co-writes rather than to your license.
So this page does two jobs. It compares what the two local programs publish, and it explains the California practice rules properly, once, since they apply identically whether you train at UCSF, at USF, or online from anywhere. For the rest of the state, including the metros with no program of their own, see our California PMHNP page.
The San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont metro
Primary: San Francisco, California. Students commonly commute across the metro for the in-person clinical hours, so we include:
Both verified programs sit in the City of San Francisco. The BLS wage figures below cover the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont metropolitan statistical area, which reaches across the Bay and takes in Oakland, Berkeley and the northern Peninsula, so they describe a labor market considerably wider than the city itself.
PMHNP programs in San Francisco: UCSF and USF
University of San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
Who finds your preceptor: San Francisco programs compared
A PMHNP program runs on supervised psychiatric hours, and somebody has to find the preceptor who supervises them. When that somebody is you, a program can quietly run a semester or two past its advertised length while you make calls.
Both PMHNP programs in San Francisco leave this unstated in public. That is not a mark against either school, and it is not evidence that neither helps. It means the comparison below cannot be made from published material, so you have to make it yourself, in writing, before you accept an offer.
| Program | Who secures the placement | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| University of San Francisco BSN-to-DNP | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
| University of California, San Francisco BSN-to-DNP | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
California licensure: the four documents that actually let you practice
People tend to picture licensure as one credential. In California it is four, obtained in order, and each one unlocks something the previous one did not. You need an active California RN license. You need to finish a Board-approved graduate program in the psychiatric-mental health role and population focus, which both San Francisco programs are built to satisfy. You need national certification, which for PMHNPs is the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Across the Lifespan) exam. And you need nurse practitioner certification from the California Board of Registered Nursing. Only after all four are in hand are you a nurse practitioner in the eyes of the state.
Then comes the part that makes California a restricted-practice state, and it is worth understanding as a mechanism rather than filing under the label. Your clinical authority does not arrive with your certification. It arrives in a set of standardized procedures: written protocols developed jointly by the nurse practitioner, a physician and the administration of the practice setting, which spell out the medical functions you are authorized to perform. The protocols are the source of the authority, and the protocols belong to the organization.
The consequence is the part applicants miss. Your scope does not travel with you. It is written for a role at an employer, so when you change jobs you are practicing under a new document written by different people, and it may be broader or narrower than the one before it. Two psychiatric nurse practitioners with identical training, identical certification and offices in the same neighborhood can have materially different day-to-day authority, and the difference is entirely in the paperwork.
Prescribing sits on top of that, through a second mechanism. California grants furnishing authority rather than independent prescriptive authority, which means you apply for a furnishing number and then furnish medication under the same standardized procedures. Controlled substances require a federal DEA registration in addition. For psychiatric practice, where most of what you prescribe is a scheduled medication, that is not a technicality. It is two separate credentials standing between your degree and your first prescription, and both take time to obtain.
Read alongside the pay figures further down, this explains what restricted practice does and does not do. It constrains the form your practice can take, above all whether you can own and run a psychiatric practice without a physician in the arrangement. It does not cap what a hospital or a group will pay you to do clinical work, which is why a restrictive state and an extraordinary wage distribution can sit in the same metro without contradicting each other.
AB 890, passed in 2020, created a pathway toward more independent practice for nurse practitioners who meet its transition-to-practice requirements. It is a real change of direction and a staged, conditional one rather than a switch to full practice authority. Treat California as a state that is moving rather than one that has arrived, and confirm the current requirements with the Board rather than relying on any summary, this one included. These rules apply statewide, so they govern you in every California metro, not only this one.
What the state requires
- Active California RN license
- A Board-approved graduate program in the psychiatric-mental health role and population focus
- National PMHNP certification (ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health NP, Across the Lifespan)
- Nurse practitioner certification from the California Board of Registered Nursing
- Standardized procedures written with a physician and the practice setting, which define and authorize your clinical scope
- A furnishing number before you may prescribe, plus federal DEA registration for controlled substances
State board: California Board of Registered Nursing
Accredited online PMHNP programs San Francisco residents can do
Most PMHNP study is online. These verified, accredited programs enroll students from most states and let you complete the supervised clinical hours near you. Online programs set their own state authorization, so confirm each one admits California residents before you apply.
California State University, Fresno
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageDrexel University College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 640 clinical hrs
Program pageFairleigh Dickinson University Henry P. Becton School of Nursing and Allied Health
ACEN-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia Southern University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · BSN-to-DNP · 630 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia State University Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageHerzing University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageJohns Hopkins University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageLa Salle University School of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 692 clinical hrs
Program pageLewis University College of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageNorthern Kentucky University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageRadford University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageRocky Mountain University of Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageSimmons University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 756 clinical hrs
Program pageUniversity of Cincinnati College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate
Program pageUniversity of South Alabama College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 600 clinical hrs
Program pageNot open to California residents: Western Governors University. WGU's program page states it does not enroll residents of California, the District of Columbia, Louisiana, New York, North Dakota, or Washington.
Confirm current state authorization with each program. For the full comparison, see our online PMHNP ranking.
How to become a PMHNP in the San Francisco area
The path to becoming a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner in the San Francisco area is the same graduate-nursing route used nationwide, with one local variable: your APRN license and prescriptive authority come from the California Board of Nursing. Here are the five steps.
- 01
Earn a BSN and an RN license
Most PMHNP programs admit Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduates who hold an active RN license. If you start with an associate degree or a non-nursing bachelor's, bridge programs exist. You'll practice on a California RN license while you complete graduate school.
- 02
Enroll in an accredited PMHNP program
Choose an MSN or a BSN-to-DNP with a PMHNP focus. The degree must hold CCNE or ACEN accreditation, or it won't qualify you for the certification exam. California has 2 verified in-state programs (listed above), and 45 accredited online programs also enroll California residents.
- 03
Complete a minimum of 500 supervised clinical hours
The ANCC requires at least 500 faculty-supervised clinical hours, and many programs require 600 to 750. Securing local clinical placements is the biggest practical hurdle, so confirm whether a program arranges your preceptors before you enroll.
- 04
Pass the ANCC PMHNP-BC certification exam
The ANCC PMHNP-BC first-time pass rate was 83% in 2024 and 82% in 2025. Either the ANCC exam or the newer AANPCB PMHNP exam qualifies you for state licensure; ANCC's PMHNP-BC is the one most employers list by name.
- 05
Get California APRN licensure and DEA registration
The California Board of Nursing issues your APRN license and prescriptive authority once you're certified, and a federal DEA registration lets you prescribe controlled substances. Practice authority varies by state, so confirm current California requirements with the board before you enroll.
For the full national pathway, including itemized cost, timeline, and program selection advice, see our complete guide on how to become a PMHNP.
What the two San Francisco programs cost, and what the city costs
These two programs compare more cleanly than most pairs of programs do, because they are the same product: both BSN-to-DNP, both CCNE-accredited, both in the same city. That removes the usual excuse for not comparing price directly.
What separates them is ownership. UCSF is a public university, so California residency is the single largest lever you have on the total cost. The University of San Francisco is private, where residents and non-residents pay the same. For a California resident, that is the most consequential structural difference between the two, and it is worth pricing before you weigh anything softer.
The second cost is the city. You are studying in one of the most expensive housing markets in the country, and for a multi-year doctorate that expense compounds in a way tuition alone does not capture. The counterweight is real and it is in the pay section below: this metro pays nurse practitioners at a level that reflects what it costs to live here. Ask both schools for a cost-of-attendance sheet for the specific track you are applying to, and confirm whether clinical-course credits are billed at the same rate as didactic ones.
Where psychiatric clinical hours get done in the Bay Area
The Bay Area concentrates an unusual amount of psychiatric care into a small geographic area, across academic medical centers, county behavioral health services, a large community and safety-net sector, federal facilities and a substantial private market. For a student who has to assemble several hundred supervised hours, density is the thing that matters most, and this metro has it.
Two practical notes. The first is that the metro crosses the Bay, so a site 12 miles away can mean a bridge at commute hours, and clinical rotations are not once a week. The second is that a large share of the region's psychiatric caseload sits in public and community settings rather than private outpatient practice, which is generally good news for a psychiatric student: it is where the severe presentations are, and it is where supervised hours are most often available.
Academic medical centers
University-affiliated hospital systems in the metro, which host graduate nursing rotations and carry inpatient psychiatric services.
County and public behavioral health
The counties around the Bay run public behavioral health services that carry much of the region's acute psychiatric caseload.
Community and safety-net clinics
A large federally qualified health center sector across the metro, where psychiatric care is increasingly delivered alongside primary care.
Federal and veterans facilities
VA facilities in the San Francisco Bay Area, which run accredited nursing training programs.
Hiring here comes with paperwork you should ask about
We name employers only where we can point at a source, so this section stays short rather than listing every health system in the Bay Area. The point worth planning around is a sequencing one that follows directly from the licensure section.
Being licensed and certified does not make you ready to see patients on your first Monday. Your standardized procedures have to exist for your specific role, and your furnishing number has to be issued before you can prescribe anything. Both take time, and an employer that regularly hires new psychiatric nurse practitioners will have a process for it, while one that does not may leave you waiting on paperwork you cannot file yourself. Ask during hiring how long the organization expects that to take, and what you will be doing in the meantime.
What nurse practitioners earn in the San Francisco metro
These are metro figures, not California numbers standing in for a city. BLS OEWS (May 2025) counts 3,110 nurse practitioners in the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont metro, with a median wage of $219,080 and a mean of $215,430. The quartiles run from $176,490 at the 25th percentile to $241,910 at the 75th.
Look at the mean and the median together, because the relationship between them is the interesting part. The mean sits below the median, by about $3,650. In a market propped up by a small number of exceptional earners, the mean runs above the median instead. Here the high number is not an artifact of the top: it describes the middle of the market. The 10th percentile of $153,280 makes the same point from the other end, sitting roughly $21,000 above the national NP median of $132,300. A nurse practitioner in the bottom tenth of this metro out-earns the typical nurse practitioner nationally.
Against California itself, which is the highest-paying state for nurse practitioners in the OEWS table, the metro is still $50,560 clear at the median, $219,080 against the state's $168,520. The 90th percentile reaches $273,960, about $99,540 above the national 90th of $174,420. The San Jose metro, about 50 miles south, pays more still at the median, at $231,560.
The reason this is worth a paragraph rather than a stat tile: the usual explanation for a high NP ceiling is practice independence, because states that let nurse practitioners own their practices open a route to ownership income that employed clinicians do not have. California does not offer that route in the way Washington or Arizona do, and yet the numbers on this page are what they are. Whatever is driving them, independence is not it. For pay by setting and practice model, see our PMHNP salary guide.
Figures cover nurse practitioners generally (SOC 29-1171); BLS does not publish a separate psychiatric-mental health NP wage. Psychiatric-mental health is among the higher-paying NP specialties nationally, so read these as a floor rather than a ceiling for the specialty.
How San Francisco compares with the rest of California
The comparisons that tell you something about San Francisco are the metro that pays more and has no program at all, and the large southern market where the pay works differently.
PMHNP Programs in San Jose
About 50 miles south, a higher median at $231,560, and no program of its own.
PMHNP Programs in Los Angeles
The state's largest field of programs, under identical practice rules.
PMHNP Programs in California
The statewide view, including every metro without a local program.
Keep researching
PMHNP Programs in California
Every verified California program, plus licensure and pay statewide.
BSN to DNP PMHNP Programs
The doctoral route both San Francisco programs use.
Best Online PMHNP Programs
The national field of accredited online options.
PMHNP Salary Guide
What psychiatric NPs earn by state, experience, and setting.
PMHNP in San Francisco, answered
Are there PMHNP programs in San Francisco?+
What do nurse practitioners earn in the San Francisco metro?+
Does California restrict what a PMHNP can prescribe in San Francisco?+
Do the San Francisco PMHNP programs find your clinical placement?+
Do you need a DNP to work as a PMHNP in San Francisco?+
Can you become a PMHNP in San Francisco through an online program?+
Program details and figures trace to primary sources; gaps are labeled, not estimated.
- [1] Per-program details (credits, clinical hours, delivery mode, placement model, accreditation) trace to each school's own pages and the CCNE/ACEN directory, captured in our verified PMHNP program dataset
- [2] University of California, San Francisco School of Nursing: BSN-to-DNP Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner specialty
- [3] University of San Francisco School of Nursing and Health Professions: Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner program
- [4] AANP State Practice Environment, California (classified "Restricted Practice")
- [5] California Board of Registered Nursing: nurse practitioner practice, standardized procedures and furnishing authority
- [6] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025: Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metropolitan area
- [7] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025: Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), California statewide
- [8] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nurse Practitioners (national median wage)