PMHNP Programs in Los Angeles
Four accredited PMHNP programs sit across the LA basin, from the city out to Pomona about 30 miles east. Not one of them says who finds your psychiatric preceptor, and not one of them is a doctorate. California also restricts nurse practitioner practice more than most states, while the metro pays nurse practitioners a median of $161,470.
The short version
There are four verified, accredited PMHNP programs in Los Angeles: Cal State LA and Charles R. Drew University in the city, and Azusa Pacific University and Western University of Health Sciences to the east in the San Gabriel Valley.
Not one of the four publishes who arranges clinical placements. The table below is unanimous, which is unusual. In a metro with this many nursing programs competing for psychiatric preceptors, assume the search is yours until a school tells you otherwise in writing.
No program based in this metro awards a doctorate. Three are master's programs and the fourth is a post-master's certificate, so a DNP means looking outside Los Angeles or online. See our DNP PMHNP ranking.
California is a restricted-practice state. Nurse practitioners work under physician-developed standardized procedures and hold furnishing rather than independent prescriptive authority, though AB 890 (2020) created a pathway toward more independent practice for qualifying NPs.
LA nurse practitioners earn a median of $161,470 and a 90th percentile of $216,180, roughly $41,800 above the national 90th percentile (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
The first thing to settle about the PMHNP programs in Los Angeles is geography, because four options in one metro is not the same as four options in one city. Cal State LA and Charles R. Drew are in Los Angeles proper. Azusa Pacific is about 25 miles east and Western University of Health Sciences is in Pomona at around 30. In LA traffic those are different commutes, not different neighborhoods, so work out which are genuinely reachable for you before comparing anything else.
The second thing is the finding that should drive your questions at admissions. None of the four publishes a commitment about arranging your clinical placements. Not one. The silence is uniform, which means there is no local program you can choose in order to have this handled for you. In a market with this many nursing programs chasing the same psychiatric preceptors, being handed the search yourself is a real risk to your timeline, so treat it as the first thing to resolve rather than the last.
The third is a gap in what the metro offers at all. Three of the four are master's programs and the fourth is a post-master's certificate for nurses who already hold an APRN credential. There is no doctoral PMHNP route based in Los Angeles, so if you want a DNP you are looking outside the metro or online. For a city this size that is a genuine constraint, and it is worth knowing before you build a shortlist.
The fourth is the tension that makes this metro interesting. California is one of the more restrictive states for nurse practitioner practice, and Los Angeles still pays nurse practitioners well above the national range at every published percentile. Both are true at once, and the pay section below is where that gets unpacked. For the statewide picture, including San Francisco, San Diego and Fresno, see our California PMHNP page.
The greater Los Angeles basin
Primary: Los Angeles, California. Students commonly commute across the metro for the in-person clinical hours, so we include:
This guide covers the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim metropolitan statistical area, which the BLS wage figures below also cover. It stretches well beyond the city limits and takes in Orange County. San Bernardino County sits outside it, so programs and wages there belong to the Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario metro and are covered on our Riverside page.
PMHNP programs in Los Angeles: the four verified options
California State University, Los Angeles (Patricia A. Chin School of Nursing)
Los Angeles, CA
Western University of Health Sciences
Pomona, CA
Azusa Pacific University School of Nursing
Azusa, CA
Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science (Mervyn M. Dymally School of Nursing)
Los Angeles, CA
Who finds your preceptor: Los Angeles programs compared
Every PMHNP program requires several hundred hours of supervised psychiatric practice, and someone has to find the preceptor who supervises them. Los Angeles has an enormous clinical market and an enormous number of health-professions students competing inside it, so supply and competition rise together.
Here is where each of the PMHNP programs in Los Angeles stands, taken from what the school itself publishes. The table is unusual in being unanimous: not one of the four states who secures clinical sites and preceptors. Where a school says nothing, we say so rather than infer a model from its marketing.
| Program | Who secures the placement | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| California State University, Los Angeles (Patricia A. Chin School of Nursing) MSN | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
| Western University of Health Sciences Post-Master's Certificate | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
| Azusa Pacific University School of Nursing MSN | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
| Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science (Mervyn M. Dymally School of Nursing) MSN | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
California licensure, standardized procedures, and what AB 890 changed
To practice in California you need nurse practitioner certification from the California Board of Registered Nursing, which requires an active California RN license, completion of an approved graduate-level program in the psychiatric-mental health role and population focus, and national certification. For PMHNPs that is the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Across the Lifespan) exam.
California is classified restricted practice, and the mechanism is distinctive enough to be worth understanding rather than just filing under the label. Nurse practitioners here work under standardized procedures, which are written protocols developed jointly by the nurse practitioner, a physician and the administration of the practice setting. They define what you are authorized to do. Prescribing is handled through furnishing authority rather than independent prescriptive authority, which requires a separate furnishing number and, for controlled substances, a federal DEA registration on top.
Practically, this means your scope in California is defined at the level of the organization you work for. Two psychiatric NPs in the same city can have materially different day-to-day authority because their standardized procedures were written differently. When you interview, ask to see them.
AB 890, passed in 2020, created a pathway toward more independent practice for nurse practitioners who meet its transition-to-practice requirements. It is a genuine change in direction for the state, and it is also a staged and conditional one rather than a switch to full practice authority. If long-term independence matters to you, treat California as a state that is moving rather than one that has arrived, and confirm the current requirements with the Board rather than relying on any summary, including this one.
What the state requires
- Active California RN license
- Completion of a Board-approved graduate-level program in the psychiatric-mental health role and population focus
- National PMHNP certification (ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health NP, Across the Lifespan)
- Nurse practitioner certification from the California Board of Registered Nursing
- Standardized procedures developed with a physician and the practice setting, defining your authorized scope
- A furnishing number to prescribe, plus federal DEA registration for controlled substances
State board: California Board of Registered Nursing
Accredited online PMHNP programs Los Angeles residents can do
Most PMHNP study is online. These verified, accredited programs enroll students from most states and let you complete the supervised clinical hours near you. Online programs set their own state authorization, so confirm each one admits California residents before you apply.
California State University, Fresno
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageDrexel University College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 640 clinical hrs
Program pageFairleigh Dickinson University Henry P. Becton School of Nursing and Allied Health
ACEN-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia Southern University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · BSN-to-DNP · 630 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia State University Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageHerzing University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageJohns Hopkins University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageLa Salle University School of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 692 clinical hrs
Program pageLewis University College of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageNorthern Kentucky University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageRadford University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageRocky Mountain University of Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageSimmons University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 756 clinical hrs
Program pageUniversity of Cincinnati College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate
Program pageUniversity of South Alabama College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 600 clinical hrs
Program pageNot open to California residents: Western Governors University. WGU's program page states it does not enroll residents of California, the District of Columbia, Louisiana, New York, North Dakota, or Washington.
Confirm current state authorization with each program. For the full comparison, see our online PMHNP ranking.
How to become a PMHNP in the Los Angeles area
The path to becoming a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner in the Los Angeles area is the same graduate-nursing route used nationwide, with one local variable: your APRN license and prescriptive authority come from the California Board of Nursing. Here are the five steps.
- 01
Earn a BSN and an RN license
Most PMHNP programs admit Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduates who hold an active RN license. If you start with an associate degree or a non-nursing bachelor's, bridge programs exist. You'll practice on a California RN license while you complete graduate school.
- 02
Enroll in an accredited PMHNP program
Choose an MSN or a BSN-to-DNP with a PMHNP focus. The degree must hold CCNE or ACEN accreditation, or it won't qualify you for the certification exam. California has 4 verified in-state programs (listed above), and 45 accredited online programs also enroll California residents.
- 03
Complete a minimum of 500 supervised clinical hours
The ANCC requires at least 500 faculty-supervised clinical hours, and many programs require 600 to 750. Securing local clinical placements is the biggest practical hurdle, so confirm whether a program arranges your preceptors before you enroll.
- 04
Pass the ANCC PMHNP-BC certification exam
The ANCC PMHNP-BC first-time pass rate was 83% in 2024 and 82% in 2025. Either the ANCC exam or the newer AANPCB PMHNP exam qualifies you for state licensure; ANCC's PMHNP-BC is the one most employers list by name.
- 05
Get California APRN licensure and DEA registration
The California Board of Nursing issues your APRN license and prescriptive authority once you're certified, and a federal DEA registration lets you prescribe controlled substances. Practice authority varies by state, so confirm current California requirements with the board before you enroll.
For the full national pathway, including itemized cost, timeline, and program selection advice, see our complete guide on how to become a PMHNP.
What it costs to study in Los Angeles
The four programs split on ownership, and for a California resident that is the largest financial lever available. Cal State LA is part of the California State University system and carries public in-state rates. Charles R. Drew, Azusa Pacific and Western University of Health Sciences are private, where residency changes nothing.
They also start from different places. Western University's option is a post-master's certificate for nurses who already hold an APRN credential, so comparing its total price against a master's program aimed at a nurse starting from a BSN tells you nothing useful. Compare within the track that matches where you are starting.
The housing math in this metro interacts with the geography above in a way worth naming. The programs further east sit in cheaper areas, so a student who can relocate toward Azusa or Pomona changes both their commute and their rent at once. That is a more consequential decision here than in a compact metro. Ask each program for a cost-of-attendance sheet for the specific track, and confirm whether clinical-course credits are billed at the same rate as didactic ones.
Where you complete clinical hours
Los Angeles County runs one of the largest public health systems in the United States and carries a correspondingly large psychiatric caseload, alongside academic medical centers, a very large safety-net sector, federal facilities and a substantial private behavioral health market. The range of psychiatric presentations available to a student here is about as wide as it gets.
Two local factors are worth planning around, and they matter more here than they would elsewhere because every program in the metro leaves the placement search unaddressed in public. The first is language: large parts of the county are majority Spanish-speaking, and psychiatric assessment depends on nuance in the patient's own language more than most specialties, so a bilingual student has materially more usable sites. The second is distance, again. A placement that is 15 miles away can be an hour each way, and clinical rotations are not weekly.
County public health and psychiatric services
Los Angeles County operates one of the largest public health systems in the country, carrying a large share of acute psychiatric presentations.
Academic medical centers
University-affiliated hospital systems across the basin that host graduate nursing rotations.
Safety-net and community mental health
A large federally qualified health center and community behavioral health sector across the county.
Federal and veterans facilities
VA facilities in Greater Los Angeles, which run accredited nursing training programs.
Who hires PMHNPs in Los Angeles
We name employers only where we can point at a source, so this section stays short rather than listing every health system in Southern California. The structural point is the one from the licensure section: in California your employer does not just pay you, it co-authors the standardized procedures that define what you are permitted to do.
That makes the interview a scope negotiation as well as a salary negotiation, which is unusual. Ask to see the standardized procedures for the role before accepting, and ask who reviews them and how often. Two jobs with the same title and similar pay can differ substantially in whether you are practicing at the top of your training.
What PMHNPs earn in the Los Angeles metro
These are metro-specific figures, not California numbers standing in for a city. BLS OEWS (May 2025) counts 10,060 nurse practitioners in the Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim metro, with a median wage of $161,470 and a mean of $163,610.
The ceiling is the interesting part. Los Angeles posts a 90th percentile of $216,180, roughly $41,800 above the national 90th percentile of $174,420, and about $13,240 above the New York metro's $202,940. For a state where nurse practitioners cannot set up an independent psychiatric practice the way they can in Washington or Arizona, that is a strong top end.
What makes that genuinely interesting is that it happens in a restricted-practice state. The pattern we see elsewhere is that permissive states lift the top of the market by opening a route to practice ownership, and California does not offer that route. So the LA ceiling is being driven by something else, most plausibly the sheer size and wage level of the California health system and a very high cost of living that pay has to clear. We are not claiming a cause, only noting that the usual explanation does not fit here.
The floor is comparatively ordinary: $119,950 at the 10th percentile, below the New York metro's $132,490 and Seattle's $128,750. The distance from the metro's 10th percentile to its 90th is about $96,230, so this is a market that rewards experience steeply rather than one that starts everyone high. If you are early in your career, read the floor rather than the ceiling, because the floor is the number you meet first. For pay by setting and practice model, see our PMHNP salary guide.
Figures cover nurse practitioners generally (SOC 29-1171); BLS does not publish a separate psychiatric-mental health NP wage, and the metro area used here excludes San Bernardino County. Psychiatric-mental health is among the higher-paying NP specialties nationally, so read these as a floor rather than a ceiling for the specialty.
Other PMHNP city guides
Two comparisons are worth making from Los Angeles: the metro immediately east, which is where the region's doctoral route and its one placement-arranging program sit, and a full-practice metro where every program answers the placement question.
PMHNP Programs in Riverside
The Inland Empire next door, where the one program is a DNP and arranges placements.
PMHNP Programs in Seattle
A full practice authority metro where every program arranges placements.
PMHNP Programs in California
The statewide view, including San Francisco, San Diego and Fresno.
Keep researching
PMHNP Programs in California
Every verified California program, plus licensure and pay statewide.
MSN PMHNP Programs
The master's route, which is how three of the four LA programs are delivered.
DNP PMHNP Programs
The doctoral route, which no program based in this metro offers.
Post-Master's PMHNP Certificates
The certificate route, which is how Western University offers the PMHNP.
PMHNP Salary Guide
What psychiatric NPs earn by state, experience, and setting.
PMHNP in Los Angeles, answered
How many PMHNP programs are in Los Angeles?+
Which Los Angeles PMHNP program arranges your clinical placements?+
Can you get a DNP in psychiatric nursing in Los Angeles?+
Can a PMHNP practice independently in California?+
What do PMHNPs earn in Los Angeles?+
Does being bilingual help a PMHNP in Los Angeles?+
Can I become a PMHNP in Los Angeles through an online program?+
Program details and figures trace to primary sources; gaps are labeled, not estimated.
- [1] Per-program details (credits, clinical hours, delivery mode, placement model, accreditation) trace to each school's own pages and the CCNE/ACEN directory, captured in our verified PMHNP program dataset
- [2] AANP State Practice Environment, California (classified "Restricted Practice")
- [3] California Board of Registered Nursing: nurse practitioner practice, standardized procedures and furnishing authority
- [4] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025: Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA metropolitan area
- [5] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025: Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ and Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA (for the named metro comparisons)
- [6] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nurse Practitioners (national median wage)