PMHNP Programs in San Diego
Three and a quarter million people live in this metro and one accredited PMHNP program is based here, a master's at the private University of San Diego. That scarcity shapes everything on this page, including why the local pay at the midpoint is ordinary by California standards while the top of the market reaches $215,640.
The short version
There is one verified, CCNE-accredited PMHNP program in San Diego: the MSN psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner track at the University of San Diego. It is a master's rather than a doctorate, which makes it a shorter route to the same ANCC certification.
The university is private, so California residency does not lower what you pay. In a state with large public university systems, that removes the biggest cost lever most applicants have, and it is the first thing to price.
The school publishes nothing about who secures your preceptor. With only one program in the metro there is no local alternative if that search stalls, so get the answer in writing before you apply.
The metro median of $163,860 runs $4,660 below the California median of $168,520, while the 90th percentile reaches $215,640, about $41,220 above the national 90th (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
There is one program to consider if you want PMHNP programs in San Diego taught by a university based here: the MSN psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner track at the University of San Diego, accredited by CCNE. For a metro of roughly 3.3 million people with a substantial medical and research economy, one accredited psychiatric nurse practitioner program is a thin local supply, and it means the realistic field for most people here is one campus option plus the accredited online programs listed further down.
Two things about that one program shape the decision. It is a master's, not a doctorate, which makes it the shorter route to the same national certification and a genuinely different proposition from the DNP tracks that dominate the California field. And the university is private, so there is no resident rate to qualify for. In California, where the public university systems are large and the in-state discount is the biggest lever most applicants have, that absence is worth pricing carefully rather than discovering late.
The pay picture has its own quirk, covered in full below: the metro median sits below the California figure, and yet its top decile runs a long way above the national one. For the rest of the state, see our California PMHNP page.
The San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad metro
Primary: San Diego, California. Students commonly commute across the metro for the in-person clinical hours, so we include:
The BLS wage figures below cover the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad metropolitan statistical area, which is San Diego County and takes in the North County coastal cities and the South Bay to the border. The metro shares a land border with Mexico, and bilingual clinicians have more usable clinical sites across much of it.
PMHNP programs in San Diego: the one verified option
University of San Diego
San Diego, CA
Who finds your preceptor: San Diego programs compared
Several hundred hours of supervised psychiatric practice stand between enrollment and certification, and the question that decides how long they take is who finds the preceptor.
The University of San Diego does not state publicly who secures clinical sites and preceptors for its PMHNP students. In a metro with several programs that would be one data point among many. Here it is the only one, and it matters more because of it: if the placement search turns out to be yours and it stalls, there is no second local program to transfer into.
| Program | Who secures the placement | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| University of San Diego MSN | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
California practice rules, and what they mean in San Diego
California is classified restricted practice. Your clinical authority comes from standardized procedures, written protocols developed with a physician and the practice setting rather than something your certification grants on its own, and prescribing runs through a separate furnishing credential with a federal DEA registration on top for controlled substances. AB 890, passed in 2020, opened a staged pathway toward more independent practice for qualifying nurse practitioners.
The rules follow where you practice rather than where you studied, so they apply the same way to a University of San Diego graduate and to someone who trained online. We explain the mechanism in full, including why your scope is rewritten when you change employers, on our California PMHNP page.
What the state requires
- Active California RN license
- A Board-approved graduate program in the psychiatric-mental health role and population focus
- National PMHNP certification (ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health NP, Across the Lifespan)
- Nurse practitioner certification from the California Board of Registered Nursing
- Standardized procedures written with a physician and the practice setting
- A furnishing number to prescribe, plus federal DEA registration for controlled substances
State board: California Board of Registered Nursing
Accredited online PMHNP programs San Diego residents can do
Most PMHNP study is online. These verified, accredited programs enroll students from most states and let you complete the supervised clinical hours near you. Online programs set their own state authorization, so confirm each one admits California residents before you apply.
California State University, Fresno
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageDrexel University College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 640 clinical hrs
Program pageFairleigh Dickinson University Henry P. Becton School of Nursing and Allied Health
ACEN-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia Southern University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · BSN-to-DNP · 630 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia State University Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageHerzing University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageJohns Hopkins University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageLa Salle University School of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 692 clinical hrs
Program pageLewis University College of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageNorthern Kentucky University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageRadford University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageRocky Mountain University of Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageSimmons University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 756 clinical hrs
Program pageUniversity of Cincinnati College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate
Program pageUniversity of South Alabama College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 600 clinical hrs
Program pageNot open to California residents: Western Governors University. WGU's program page states it does not enroll residents of California, the District of Columbia, Louisiana, New York, North Dakota, or Washington.
Confirm current state authorization with each program. For the full comparison, see our online PMHNP ranking.
How to become a PMHNP in the San Diego area
The path to becoming a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner in the San Diego area is the same graduate-nursing route used nationwide, with one local variable: your APRN license and prescriptive authority come from the California Board of Nursing. Here are the five steps.
- 01
Earn a BSN and an RN license
Most PMHNP programs admit Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduates who hold an active RN license. If you start with an associate degree or a non-nursing bachelor's, bridge programs exist. You'll practice on a California RN license while you complete graduate school.
- 02
Enroll in an accredited PMHNP program
Choose an MSN or a BSN-to-DNP with a PMHNP focus. The degree must hold CCNE or ACEN accreditation, or it won't qualify you for the certification exam. California has 1 verified in-state program (listed above), and 45 accredited online programs also enroll California residents.
- 03
Complete a minimum of 500 supervised clinical hours
The ANCC requires at least 500 faculty-supervised clinical hours, and many programs require 600 to 750. Securing local clinical placements is the biggest practical hurdle, so confirm whether a program arranges your preceptors before you enroll.
- 04
Pass the ANCC PMHNP-BC certification exam
The ANCC PMHNP-BC first-time pass rate was 83% in 2024 and 82% in 2025. Either the ANCC exam or the newer AANPCB PMHNP exam qualifies you for state licensure; ANCC's PMHNP-BC is the one most employers list by name.
- 05
Get California APRN licensure and DEA registration
The California Board of Nursing issues your APRN license and prescriptive authority once you're certified, and a federal DEA registration lets you prescribe controlled substances. Practice authority varies by state, so confirm current California requirements with the board before you enroll.
For the full national pathway, including itemized cost, timeline, and program selection advice, see our complete guide on how to become a PMHNP.
A private program in an expensive city: what that adds up to
Two costs compound in San Diego and it is better to see them together. The metro's one program is private, so residents and non-residents pay the same and there is no in-state rate to qualify for. And San Diego is an expensive coastal city to live in for the two or three years a master's takes.
That combination is the argument for taking the online options below seriously rather than treating them as second best. An accredited online program lets you stay in San Diego, keep working while you study, and potentially pay a public institution's rate somewhere else. What you give up is usually placement support, which is worth real money in this specialty and which the local program does not publicly promise either.
On the other side, the master's route is structurally cheaper than a doctorate because it is shorter, so the local option is not the expensive choice by default. Ask the university for a cost-of-attendance sheet for the PMHNP track specifically, and confirm whether clinical-course credits bill at the same rate as didactic ones.
Where San Diego PMHNP students complete clinical hours
San Diego County has a deeper clinical market than its single nursing program suggests, spanning academic and research medicine, county behavioral health, a large military and veterans health presence, and a substantial community clinic sector serving the South Bay and the border region. The psychiatric caseload is correspondingly varied.
Two local factors change what is available to you. The military and veterans health footprint here is unusually large for a metro this size, and psychiatric care is a significant part of it, so the region offers exposure to trauma, post-deployment and substance use presentations that many metros cannot match. And a large share of the county is Spanish-speaking, which matters more in psychiatry than in most specialties because assessment depends on nuance in the patient's own language. A bilingual student has meaningfully more usable sites.
Military and veterans health facilities
San Diego County carries a large federal and veterans health presence, with psychiatric services attached.
Academic and research medicine
University-affiliated hospital systems in the county, which host graduate nursing rotations.
County behavioral health services
San Diego County operates public behavioral health services carrying much of the acute psychiatric caseload.
Border and South Bay community clinics
A large community clinic sector serving the South Bay and border communities, where bilingual clinicians are in demand.
Who hires psychiatric nurse practitioners in San Diego County
We name employers only where we can point at a source, so this section stays short rather than listing every system in the county. The structural fact worth planning around is that this metro trains far fewer psychiatric nurse practitioners locally than its size would suggest, which generally works in a graduate's favor at the hiring stage.
It does not shorten the California paperwork. Ask a prospective employer how it writes standardized procedures for a new psychiatric nurse practitioner and how long it expects your furnishing registration to take, because those two documents rather than your degree are what let you begin prescribing. Ask as well whether the role is expected to carry Spanish-speaking patients, since in this county that is often assumed rather than stated.
What nurse practitioners earn in the San Diego metro
BLS OEWS (May 2025) counts 2,340 nurse practitioners in the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad metro, with a median wage of $163,860 and a mean of $164,870.
Start with the bottom of the distribution, because it is doing something unusual. The 10th percentile is $131,380 and the 25th is $135,410, a gap of only $4,030. The bottom quarter of this market is bunched almost on top of itself, which means the difference between a weak offer and a below-average one here is small. Then it opens out: $181,120 at the 75th percentile and $215,640 at the 90th. From the 25th percentile to the 90th the market spreads $80,230, having spread barely anything below that.
The midpoint is the other thing to notice. At $163,860 the metro median sits $4,660 below the California median of $168,520, so by the standards of its own state this is not a high-paying market at the middle. Against the country it clearly is, at 23.9% above the national NP median of $132,300, and its 90th percentile of $215,640 is about $41,220 above the national 90th of $174,420.
Put together, the shape says the money here is in getting past the first quartile rather than in arriving. The floor is compressed and unremarkable for California; the ceiling is not. For pay by setting and practice model, see our PMHNP salary guide.
Figures cover nurse practitioners generally (SOC 29-1171); BLS does not publish a separate psychiatric-mental health NP wage. Psychiatric-mental health is among the higher-paying NP specialties nationally, so read these as a floor rather than a ceiling for the specialty.
How San Diego compares with the rest of Southern California
Both Southern California neighbors are useful comparisons from here, because one pays more at the median than San Diego does and the other has the larger field of programs.
PMHNP Programs in Riverside
The Inland Empire, where the one program arranges placements and the median is $169,920.
PMHNP Programs in Los Angeles
The state's largest field of programs, about two hours north.
PMHNP Programs in California
The statewide view, including licensure in full and every verified program.
Keep researching
PMHNP Programs in California
Every verified California program, plus the practice rules explained in full.
MSN PMHNP Programs
The master's route, which is how the University of San Diego offers the PMHNP.
Best Online PMHNP Programs
The national field of accredited online options.
PMHNP Salary Guide
What psychiatric NPs earn by state, experience, and setting.
PMHNP in San Diego, answered
Are there PMHNP programs in San Diego?+
Is the University of San Diego PMHNP a master's or a doctorate?+
Who arranges clinical placements for the San Diego program?+
What do nurse practitioners earn in San Diego?+
Why does San Diego pay less than the California median?+
Can you become a PMHNP in San Diego through an online program?+
Program details and figures trace to primary sources; gaps are labeled, not estimated.
- [1] Per-program details (credits, clinical hours, delivery mode, placement model, accreditation) trace to each school's own pages and the CCNE/ACEN directory, captured in our verified PMHNP program dataset
- [2] University of San Diego graduate catalog: MSN, Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
- [3] AANP State Practice Environment, California (classified "Restricted Practice")
- [4] California Board of Registered Nursing: nurse practitioner practice, standardized procedures and furnishing authority
- [5] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025: Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA metropolitan area
- [6] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025: Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), California statewide (for the state comparison)
- [7] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nurse Practitioners (national median wage)