PMHNP Programs in Kansas City
Three accredited PMHNP programs sit inside one commute here, but a state line runs between them. The University of Kansas is on the Kansas side, UMKC and Graceland on the Missouri side, and Kansas lets a psychiatric NP practice without a physician agreement while Missouri does not. That choice follows you for the rest of your career, so it belongs at the front of your decision rather than after graduation.
The short version
There are three verified, CCNE-accredited PMHNP programs in Kansas City: a BSN-to-DNP at the University of Kansas on the Kansas side, an MSN at the University of Missouri-Kansas City, and an MSN at Graceland University in Independence, Missouri.
The metro spans two states with opposite practice rules. The AANP classifies Kansas as full practice authority and Missouri as restricted, and in Missouri the collaborative practice arrangement with a physician is a condition of licensure that never expires.
The prescribing difference is concrete for psychiatry. Under section 334.104.2 RSMo, Schedule II authority delegated in a Missouri collaborative practice arrangement reaches only hydrocodone-containing medications, plus a hospice provision. Stimulant medications are not on that list.
Kansas City NPs earn a median of $130,760, about 1.2% below the national NP median, with a 90th percentile of $159,810 against the national $174,420 (BLS OEWS, May 2025). The wage survey pools both sides of the state line into one figure.
The PMHNP programs in Kansas City are unusual for a reason that has nothing to do with the schools themselves. This metro is split down the middle by the Missouri-Kansas state line, and so are its three programs. The University of Kansas sits on the Kansas side, while the University of Missouri-Kansas City and Graceland University in Independence sit on the Missouri side. You can commute to any of the three from most of the metro, which makes them look interchangeable on a map.
They are not interchangeable in the one way that lasts. Kansas is classified full practice authority and Missouri is classified restricted, so a psychiatric nurse practitioner licensed in Kansas can eventually evaluate, diagnose and prescribe under the nursing board alone, while one licensed in Missouri maintains a collaborative practice arrangement with a physician as a condition of holding the license. That is not a first-job formality you age out of. It is the shape of the whole career, and it is decided by which license you hold rather than which campus you attended.
Your school does not choose this for you, which is the part applicants most often miss. You can study on one side and license on the other, and plenty of people do. But it is worth deciding early, because it changes where you can work, what you can prescribe, and whether opening your own psychiatric practice is available to you at all. For the statewide picture, see our Missouri PMHNP page and our Kansas PMHNP page.
The bi-state Kansas City metro
Primary: Kansas City, Missouri. Students commonly commute across the metro for the in-person clinical hours, so we include:
This metro spans Missouri and Kansas, and the three verified programs sit two on the Missouri side and one on the Kansas side. The BLS wage figures below cover the Kansas City, MO-KS metropolitan statistical area, which pools both states into a single set of numbers, so the pay data cannot show you the licensure difference described further down.
PMHNP programs in Kansas City: three options, two states
Graceland University
Independence, MO
University of Missouri–Kansas City
Kansas City, MO
University of Kansas
Kansas City, KS
Who finds your preceptor: Kansas City programs compared
Every PMHNP program requires several hundred hours of supervised psychiatric practice, and someone has to find the preceptor who supervises them. Psychiatric preceptors are the scarce kind, and a program that hands you a list rather than a placement can quietly add a semester to your timeline.
Of the three PMHNP programs in Kansas City, one publishes a shared model where the school takes part in arranging sites and two publish nothing about who secures preceptors. We label what each school states rather than inferring a model from its marketing.
| Program | Who secures the placement | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Graceland University MSN | Shared | The school coordinates placements and holds site contracts, but you take part in finding and confirming each one. |
| University of Missouri–Kansas City MSN | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
| University of Kansas BSN-to-DNP | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
One metro, two licenses, and what the state line decides
Both states want the same things at the start. You need an active RN license, a graduate-level APRN program in the psychiatric-mental health role and population focus, and national certification, which for PMHNPs is the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (Across the Lifespan) exam. All three Kansas City programs are built to make you eligible for it. After that the two states separate, and they do not converge again.
Missouri is classified restricted practice by the AANP. A nurse practitioner here maintains a collaborative practice arrangement with a physician as a condition of licensure, and that arrangement carries ratio limits on how many APRNs one physician may cover, chart-review obligations, and limits on controlled substances. The word that matters is career-long. In some restricted states the physician relationship is a transitional requirement you complete and leave behind. In Missouri it is the standing condition of practicing at all, so if your collaborating physician retires, moves or ends the arrangement, your ability to see patients depends on replacing them.
The prescribing limit is the one psychiatric NPs feel most directly. Under section 334.104.2 RSMo, a collaborative practice arrangement may delegate Schedule II prescribing only for hydrocodone-containing medications, alongside a separate provision for APRNs employed by a certified hospice provider. Stimulant medications used in ADHD treatment sit in Schedule II and are not hydrocodone, so in ordinary outpatient psychiatry on the Missouri side of this metro, that prescription comes from a physician rather than from you.
Kansas is classified full practice authority by the AANP, and licensing runs through the Kansas State Board of Nursing rather than the Missouri board. For a psychiatric NP who wants to build an independent practice, run a cash-pay panel, or simply not have a professional life that depends on maintaining one physician relationship, that is the more open of the two environments inside this commute.
The practical advice is unglamorous: work out which license you want before you pick a program, then ask each school whether its clinical placements and its state authorization support that plan. Holding licenses in both states is also common here, and it doubles your renewal paperwork and continuing-education tracking rather than doubling your options.
What the state requires
- Active RN license in the state where you intend to practice, or an RN license with multistate privilege
- Completion of a graduate-level APRN program in the psychiatric-mental health role and population focus
- National PMHNP certification (ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health NP, Across the Lifespan)
- Missouri: a collaborative practice arrangement with a physician, maintained as a condition of licensure for as long as you practice
- Missouri: prescriptive authority delegated through that arrangement, subject to ratio and chart-review limits
- Missouri: Schedule II delegation limited to hydrocodone-containing medications, plus a hospice provision (section 334.104.2 RSMo)
- Kansas: classified full practice authority by the AANP, licensed through the Kansas State Board of Nursing
State board: Missouri State Board of Nursing
Accredited online PMHNP programs Kansas City residents can do
Most PMHNP study is online. These verified, accredited programs enroll students from most states and let you complete the supervised clinical hours near you. Online programs set their own state authorization, so confirm each one admits Missouri residents before you apply.
California State University, Fresno
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageDrexel University College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 640 clinical hrs
Program pageFairleigh Dickinson University Henry P. Becton School of Nursing and Allied Health
ACEN-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia Southern University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · BSN-to-DNP · 630 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia State University Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageHerzing University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageJohns Hopkins University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageLa Salle University School of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 692 clinical hrs
Program pageLewis University College of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageNorthern Kentucky University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageRadford University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageRocky Mountain University of Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageSimmons University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 756 clinical hrs
Program pageUniversity of Cincinnati College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate
Program pageUniversity of South Alabama College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 600 clinical hrs
Program pageConfirm current state authorization with each program. For the full comparison, see our online PMHNP ranking.
How to become a PMHNP in the Kansas City area
The path to becoming a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner in the Kansas City area is the same graduate-nursing route used nationwide, with one local variable: your APRN license and prescriptive authority come from the Missouri Board of Nursing. Here are the five steps.
- 01
Earn a BSN and an RN license
Most PMHNP programs admit Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduates who hold an active RN license. If you start with an associate degree or a non-nursing bachelor's, bridge programs exist. You'll practice on a Missouri RN license while you complete graduate school.
- 02
Enroll in an accredited PMHNP program
Choose an MSN or a BSN-to-DNP with a PMHNP focus. The degree must hold CCNE or ACEN accreditation, or it won't qualify you for the certification exam. Missouri has 3 verified in-state programs (listed above), and 46 accredited online programs also enroll Missouri residents.
- 03
Complete a minimum of 500 supervised clinical hours
The ANCC requires at least 500 faculty-supervised clinical hours, and many programs require 600 to 750. Securing local clinical placements is the biggest practical hurdle, so confirm whether a program arranges your preceptors before you enroll.
- 04
Pass the ANCC PMHNP-BC certification exam
The ANCC PMHNP-BC first-time pass rate was 83% in 2024 and 82% in 2025. Either the ANCC exam or the newer AANPCB PMHNP exam qualifies you for state licensure; ANCC's PMHNP-BC is the one most employers list by name.
- 05
Get Missouri APRN licensure and DEA registration
The Missouri Board of Nursing issues your APRN license and prescriptive authority once you're certified, and a federal DEA registration lets you prescribe controlled substances. Practice authority varies by state, so confirm current Missouri requirements with the board before you enroll.
For the full national pathway, including itemized cost, timeline, and program selection advice, see our complete guide on how to become a PMHNP.
Tuition, residency, and which side of the line you live on
Two of the three programs are public universities, and they are public in different states. The University of Kansas charges its resident rate to Kansas residents, and the University of Missouri-Kansas City charges its resident rate to Missouri residents. In a metro where a twenty-minute drive crosses the line, that means your home address can make you in-state at one nearby public university and out-of-state at the other, for programs you could commute to equally easily. Graceland University is private, where residents and non-residents pay the same.
It is worth separating two things that sound alike. Residency for tuition and licensure are unrelated decisions, and they do not have to match. Living in Kansas does not oblige you to license in Kansas, and studying in Missouri does not oblige you to license in Missouri. Applicants here sometimes collapse the two and end up paying an out-of-state rate to reach an outcome they could have had either way.
Ask each program for a cost-of-attendance sheet for the specific track you are applying to, confirm which residency rate applies to your address, and check whether clinical-course credits are billed at the same rate as didactic ones.
Where you complete psychiatric clinical hours in the metro
Clinical hours are the part of a PMHNP program most likely to slip, and this metro gives you a wider field than its size suggests, because the psychiatric services on both sides of the line sit within the same commute. Academic medical centers, community mental health organizations, substance use treatment and federal facilities are all present, and a student living near the middle of the metro can reasonably reach sites in either state.
The constraint is contractual rather than geographic. A clinical site has to have an affiliation agreement with your school before you can count hours there, and those agreements do not automatically cross the state line. Ask where a program has actually placed its psychiatric students in the last two years, not how many sites it holds contracts with in total, since the second number tends to include everything the university does and very little of it is psychiatry.
Academic medical centers
Both public universities in this metro are attached to academic health systems, which is what makes school-supported placement practical when a school offers it.
Community mental health organizations
Community behavioral health services across the metro are a common setting for supervised psychiatric hours and for severe and persistent mental illness exposure.
Substance use treatment
Addiction treatment capacity in the metro, relevant to psychiatric rotations and to dual-diagnosis experience.
Federal and veterans facilities
VA facilities in the metro run accredited nursing training programs, and federal practice authority is not tied to the state the building sits in.
Who hires PMHNPs on both sides of the state line
We name employers only where we can point at a source, so this section stays short rather than listing every hospital in the metro. The structural point is more useful than a list would be: in Kansas City your employer is not only a payer, it is usually the entity that supplies or approves the collaborating physician if you are practicing on the Missouri side.
That makes one interview question worth asking directly. If the job is in Missouri, ask who the collaborating physician would be, how the arrangement is documented, and what happens if that physician leaves. An organization that hires psychiatric NPs regularly will answer immediately. If the job is in Kansas, the question does not arise, and that difference in the answer tells you something about the two markets that a salary figure does not.
What PMHNPs earn in the Kansas City metro
These are Kansas City figures, not state numbers standing in for a metro. BLS OEWS (May 2025) counts 2,730 nurse practitioners in the Kansas City, MO-KS metro area, with a median wage of $130,760 and a mean of $130,010. The quartiles run from $120,120 at the 25th percentile to $144,550 at the 75th.
Read against the national picture, the metro is slightly below the middle and further below the top. The median sits about $1,540 under the national NP median of $132,300, roughly 1.2%. The gap widens as you climb: the metro 90th percentile of $159,810 is about $14,610 under the national 90th percentile of $174,420, and the 75th percentile is about $12,150 under the national figure. Against Missouri as a whole the metro is modestly ahead, $830 above the state median of $129,930, and the state 90th percentile of $162,060 shows the same compressed ceiling statewide.
One caveat specific to this page. The wage survey covers the bi-state metro as a single area, so it cannot tell you whether Kansas-licensed or Missouri-licensed psychiatric NPs here earn more. Nothing in this table separates the two. If you want the licensure difference to show up in your own pay, the route is the one the rules imply rather than one the data can confirm: full practice authority is what makes independent billing and practice ownership available, and those are the paths that put a psychiatric NP above a metro's employed median. For pay by setting and practice model, see our PMHNP salary guide.
Figures cover nurse practitioners generally (SOC 29-1171); BLS does not publish a separate psychiatric-mental health NP wage. Psychiatric-mental health is among the higher-paying NP specialties nationally, so read these as a floor rather than a ceiling for the specialty.
Other PMHNP city guides
Two comparisons are worth making from here: the other end of Missouri, which has the same rules and a deeper field of programs, and a full-practice metro of similar size, which is what the Kansas side of this line looks like at scale.
PMHNP Programs in St. Louis
Four verified programs across three universities, under the same Missouri rules.
PMHNP Programs in Minneapolis
A full practice authority metro, for a look at the other side of the licensure question.
PMHNP Programs in Missouri
The statewide Missouri view, including licensure and pay.
Keep researching
PMHNP Programs in Missouri
Every verified Missouri program, plus licensure and pay statewide.
PMHNP Programs in Kansas
The Kansas view, where nurse practitioners hold full practice authority.
MSN PMHNP Programs
The master's route, which is how two of the three Kansas City programs are delivered.
PMHNP Salary Guide
What psychiatric NPs earn by state, experience, and setting.
PMHNP in Kansas City, answered
Are there PMHNP programs in Kansas City?+
Should I license in Kansas or Missouri as a PMHNP?+
Does the school I attend decide which state I can practice in?+
Can a PMHNP in Missouri prescribe ADHD stimulants?+
Which Kansas City PMHNP program arranges your clinical placements?+
What do PMHNPs earn in Kansas City?+
Can I become a PMHNP in Kansas City through an online program?+
Program details and figures trace to primary sources; gaps are labeled, not estimated.
- [1] Per-program details (credits, clinical hours, delivery mode, placement model, accreditation) trace to each school's own pages and the CCNE directory, captured in our verified PMHNP program dataset
- [2] AANP State Practice Environment, Missouri (classified "Restricted Practice")
- [3] AANP State Practice Environment, Kansas (classified "Full Practice")
- [4] Missouri State Board of Nursing, advanced practice registered nurse licensure and collaborative practice arrangements
- [5] Kansas State Board of Nursing, advanced practice registered nurse licensure
- [6] Missouri Revised Statutes section 334.104.2: Schedule II delegation within a collaborative practice arrangement is limited to hydrocodone-containing medications, with a separate hospice provision
- [7] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025, Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), Kansas City, MO-KS metropolitan area
- [8] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nurse Practitioners (national median wage)