PMHNP Programs in Austin
Nurse practitioners in the Austin metro start well above the Texas floor: a 10th percentile of $114,440, against $96,880 statewide and $93,690 in Dallas-Fort Worth. The catch is at the other end, because the metro median of $128,050 sits below the Texas median. Two accredited PMHNP programs serve this market, and one of them is in Round Rock.
The short version
There are two verified, CCNE-accredited PMHNP programs in the Austin metro, both master's level: the University of Texas at Austin, and Texas State University, whose nursing campus is in Round Rock rather than Austin proper. Both sit inside the metro area the wage figures below cover.
The metro floor sits $17,560 above the Texas floor: a 10th percentile of $114,440 against $96,880 statewide, $13,100 above the national figure, and clear of both Houston ($96,880) and Dallas-Fort Worth ($93,690) (BLS OEWS, May 2025).
That floor comes with a compressed range. The distance from the 10th percentile to the median is $13,610 here, against $30,960 nationally. Starting pay is strong and the early climb is short, which is a genuinely different proposition from Dallas-Fort Worth, where the 10th percentile is $93,690.
Texas is a restricted-practice state and that does not change in Austin: physician delegation and supervision with written protocols, for the length of a career. The full rules are on our Texas PMHNP page.
Start with the number that makes this metro unusual. The 10th percentile wage for nurse practitioners in the Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos area is $114,440, which is $17,560 above the Texas 10th percentile and $13,100 above the national one. The bottom of this market is a long way up. Then look at the middle and the picture inverts: the metro median of $128,050 is $3,620 below the Texas median and $4,250 below the national median. The PMHNP programs in Austin train people into a market that pays newcomers well and then climbs slowly.
There are two of those programs, both master's level, and they are in different towns. The University of Texas at Austin is in the city. Texas State University runs its nursing programs from Round Rock, north of Austin and inside the same metropolitan area the wage figures cover. That distinction matters for a commute and for where your clinical placements are likely to sit, so it is worth settling before you compare anything else about them.
Texas licensure applies identically to graduates of both, and to anyone who studies online and stays here. We state the constraint below and treat it in full on our Texas PMHNP page.
The Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos metro
Primary: Austin, Texas. Students commonly commute across the metro for the in-person clinical hours, so we include:
This guide follows the Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos metropolitan statistical area, which the BLS wage figures below also cover. Round Rock is inside it, so a program based there is genuinely in-metro, and the corridor stretches south to San Marcos.
PMHNP programs in Austin: two verified options, one of them in Round Rock
Texas State University
Round Rock, TX
University of Texas at Austin
Austin, TX
Who finds your preceptor: Austin programs compared
Two programs, two campuses about 20 miles apart, and several hundred hours of supervised psychiatric practice standing between admission and graduation in both. The question that separates them is not curriculum. It is whether the school finds your preceptor or you do, because that is the variable that decides whether the program takes the time it says it will.
Here is where each of the PMHNP programs in Austin stands, taken from what the schools themselves publish.
| Program | Who secures the placement | What that means for you |
|---|---|---|
| Texas State University MSN | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
| University of Texas at Austin MSN | Not published Unverified | The school does not state who secures preceptors. Ask admissions directly before you apply — we will not guess it. |
What Texas restricted practice means for an Austin graduate
Licensure runs through the Texas Board of Nursing: a current Texas or compact RN license, a graduate-level APRN program in the psychiatric-mental health role and population focus, and national certification, which for PMHNPs is the ANCC Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner exam across the lifespan. Both Austin metro programs are built to make you eligible for it.
Texas is classified restricted practice, so a nurse practitioner works under physician delegation and supervision with written protocols, prescriptive authority runs through that relationship, and Schedule II prescribing is confined to select settings. This is a career-long arrangement rather than a transitional one, and it is the same in Austin as in every other Texas metro. The mechanics are on our Texas PMHNP page.
What is worth thinking about locally is the plan it rules out. Austin has a large remote-work and startup economy, and cash-pay telepsychiatry is the kind of practice that tends to appeal to people in it. Under Texas rules, that practice still needs a delegating physician, which makes going out on your own a considerably heavier lift here than in a full practice authority state. If independent psychiatric practice is the goal rather than a preference, work out how you would arrange it before you commit several years and a lot of tuition.
State board: Texas Board of Nursing
Accredited online PMHNP programs Austin residents can do
Most PMHNP study is online. These verified, accredited programs enroll students from most states and let you complete the supervised clinical hours near you. Online programs set their own state authorization, so confirm each one admits Texas residents before you apply.
California State University, Fresno
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageDrexel University College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 640 clinical hrs
Program pageFairleigh Dickinson University Henry P. Becton School of Nursing and Allied Health
ACEN-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia Southern University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · BSN-to-DNP · 630 clinical hrs
Program pageGeorgia State University Byrdine F. Lewis College of Nursing and Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageHerzing University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageJohns Hopkins University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 500 clinical hrs
Program pageLa Salle University School of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 692 clinical hrs
Program pageLewis University College of Nursing and Health Sciences
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageNorthern Kentucky University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN · 750 clinical hrs
Program pageRadford University School of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageRocky Mountain University of Health Professions
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate · 540 clinical hrs
Program pageSimmons University
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 756 clinical hrs
Program pageUniversity of Cincinnati College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · post-master's certificate
Program pageUniversity of South Alabama College of Nursing
CCNE-accredited · MSN / post-master's certificate · 600 clinical hrs
Program pageConfirm current state authorization with each program. For the full comparison, see our online PMHNP ranking.
How to become a PMHNP in the Austin area
The path to becoming a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner in the Austin area is the same graduate-nursing route used nationwide, with one local variable: your APRN license and prescriptive authority come from the Texas Board of Nursing. Here are the five steps.
- 01
Earn a BSN and an RN license
Most PMHNP programs admit Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduates who hold an active RN license. If you start with an associate degree or a non-nursing bachelor's, bridge programs exist. You'll practice on a Texas RN license while you complete graduate school.
- 02
Enroll in an accredited PMHNP program
Choose an MSN or a BSN-to-DNP with a PMHNP focus. The degree must hold CCNE or ACEN accreditation, or it won't qualify you for the certification exam. Texas has 2 verified in-state programs (listed above), and 46 accredited online programs also enroll Texas residents.
- 03
Complete a minimum of 500 supervised clinical hours
The ANCC requires at least 500 faculty-supervised clinical hours, and many programs require 600 to 750. Securing local clinical placements is the biggest practical hurdle, so confirm whether a program arranges your preceptors before you enroll.
- 04
Pass the ANCC PMHNP-BC certification exam
The ANCC PMHNP-BC first-time pass rate was 83% in 2024 and 82% in 2025. Either the ANCC exam or the newer AANPCB PMHNP exam qualifies you for state licensure; ANCC's PMHNP-BC is the one most employers list by name.
- 05
Get Texas APRN licensure and DEA registration
The Texas Board of Nursing issues your APRN license and prescriptive authority once you're certified, and a federal DEA registration lets you prescribe controlled substances. Practice authority varies by state, so confirm current Texas requirements with the board before you enroll.
For the full national pathway, including itemized cost, timeline, and program selection advice, see our complete guide on how to become a PMHNP.
What it costs to study, and to stay, in the Austin metro
Both Austin metro programs are public universities, so Texas residency is the biggest single lever on what either degree costs you, and the two are more comparable on that basis than a public and private pairing would be. What separates them is location rather than ownership: one is in the city, one is in Round Rock.
Housing is the local complication. Austin's cost of living has risen faster than the metro's nurse practitioner median has, and the median here sits below the Texas median. The high floor described below softens that for someone starting out, since a first psychiatric nurse practitioner role in this metro begins from a higher base than it would in Dallas-Fort Worth. Texas has no state income tax, which also means a given salary goes further than the same figure in a state that taxes it. Still, the honest framing is that Austin pays well at the start and does not reward seniority as steeply as the national picture would suggest.
Ask both programs for a cost-of-attendance sheet for the specific track you are applying to, and confirm whether clinical-course credits are billed at the same rate as didactic ones.
Where you complete clinical hours
The Austin metro is a compact clinical market by Texas standards, with 2,700 nurse practitioners across the whole area, and the psychiatric sites are spread along the I-35 corridor rather than concentrated in one medical district. For a student, that means placements are reachable but finite, and that two programs plus every online student in the metro are drawing on the same pool of psychiatric preceptors.
The corridor geography cuts both ways. A student in Round Rock and a student in south Austin are looking at meaningfully different site options, and a placement that is convenient for one is a 45-minute drive for the other. Confirm early which end of the metro a program tends to place students in, because that answer is harder to change once you are enrolled.
Academic and teaching hospitals
The metro's teaching hospitals host graduate nursing students, and both in-metro programs are university-based.
Community and county behavioral health
Community mental health services covering Travis and Williamson counties, a common setting for supervised psychiatric hours.
Outpatient psychiatry and telepsychiatry
Outpatient medication management is the dominant PMHNP setting, and the metro carries a substantial share of it.
University and student health services
A metro with a very large student population carries campus mental health services, which handle high volumes of young-adult psychiatric care.
Who hires PMHNPs in Austin
We name employers only where we can point at a source, so this section stays short rather than padded out. The structural facts are the useful ones: the metro supports 2,700 nurse practitioner jobs, and the pay distribution described below means the gap between a weak offer and a strong one is narrower here than in most large metros.
That narrowness should change how you negotiate. In a market where the 10th percentile is $114,440 and the median is $128,050, arguing over a few thousand dollars at the start is less valuable than getting the structure right: which setting, what acuity, whether the employer already has the physician delegation relationship in place, and what the path past the median actually looks like inside that organization. Ask what the last psychiatric nurse practitioner they hired was earning three years in.
Austin pay: a high floor and a short climb
These are metro figures, not Texas numbers standing in for a metro. BLS OEWS (May 2025) counts 2,700 nurse practitioners in the Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos metro, with a median wage of $128,050 and a mean of $135,000. The quartiles run from $124,740 at the 25th percentile to $150,350 at the 75th, and the tails reach $114,440 and $166,490.
The floor is the headline. At $114,440, the metro 10th percentile is $13,100 above the national 10th percentile, $17,560 above the Texas 10th percentile of $96,880, and well clear of the 10th percentiles in the state's two largest metros: $96,880 in Houston and $93,690 in Dallas-Fort Worth. A nurse practitioner at the bottom of the Austin market earns more than one at the bottom of either.
Then the range closes up. The distance from the 10th percentile to the median is $13,610 here against $30,960 nationally, and the 25th percentile of $124,740 sits only $3,310 below the median. Half of this market is packed into a narrow band. The median itself, $128,050, is $4,250 below the national median of $132,300 and $3,620 below the Texas median of $131,670, so the metro with the strongest floor of the three does not hold the middle.
The top is livelier than the middle suggests. The 90th percentile of $166,490 is $4,510 above the Texas statewide 90th percentile of $161,980, though still $7,930 below the national 90th, and the mean of $135,000 sits $6,950 above the median, which is what a distribution with a stretched upper tail looks like. Read together: Austin is a good place to start and a place where the step up takes longer, with a real high end for the people who reach it. For pay by setting and practice model, see our PMHNP salary guide.
Figures cover nurse practitioners generally (SOC 29-1171); BLS does not publish a separate psychiatric-mental health NP wage. Psychiatric-mental health is among the higher-paying NP specialties nationally, so read these as a floor rather than a ceiling for the specialty.
Other PMHNP city guides
Austin is worth comparing against the two larger Texas metros specifically at the bottom of the range, because that is where the three differ most and where a first job actually lands.
Keep researching
PMHNP Programs in Texas
The statewide view, including delegation and prescriptive authority in full.
MSN PMHNP Programs
Master's-level PMHNP options, which is what both Austin metro programs offer.
Best Online PMHNP Programs
The national field of accredited online programs, ranked.
PMHNP Salary Guide
What psychiatric NPs earn by state, experience, and setting.
PMHNP in Austin, answered
Are there PMHNP programs in Austin?+
Is the Texas State PMHNP program in Austin?+
Why is starting pay for nurse practitioners so high in Austin?+
What do PMHNPs earn in Austin?+
Can a PMHNP open an independent practice in Austin?+
Can I become a PMHNP in Austin through an online program?+
Program details and figures trace to primary sources; gaps are labeled, not estimated.
- [1] Per-program details (degree level, delivery mode, placement model, accreditation) trace to each school's own pages and the CCNE/ACEN directory, captured in our verified PMHNP program dataset
- [2] The University of Texas at Austin School of Nursing, MSN program page (Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner)
- [3] Texas State University Graduate College, MSN Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner program page (Round Rock)
- [4] AANP State Practice Environment, Texas (classified "Restricted Practice")
- [5] Texas Board of Nursing, APRN practice, physician delegation and prescriptive authority
- [6] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025, Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX metropolitan area
- [7] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, OEWS May 2025, Nurse Practitioners (29-1171), Texas statewide
- [8] U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nurse Practitioners (national median wage)